Pizza Supreme a la Photoshop

project3-pizzalayers

Welcome back, readers!

This week in my Digital Imagery in Web Design course, I practiced my selection and layering skills by creating a pizza!

First, I opened a file of a pizza crust. Using the background eraser tool, I removed the white background. Then, I used file > place to place a picture of a gingham cloth onto a separate layer. I rearranged the layers so the cloth was underneath the crust.

I then created a new layer and used the brush tool to create the pizza sauce. I did this a second time but with a yellow color to create a cheese layer. I then placed a photo of spinach onto a separate layer. I used the background eraser tool on this layer to remove the white background. I used the content aware move tool to spread the spinach around the pizza.

I originally tried to add the bacon in a similar way, but was having trouble removing the background. Instead, I opened the bacon photo and used the quick selection tool to select each strip on its own. I added each strip on its own layer and used the transform tools to make each strip bigger.

For the mushrooms, I opened the original image and used the quick selection tool to select one mushroom. I then copied and pasted this mushroom onto a layer in a folder labeled mushrooms. I used the transform control I copied the layer by dragging it down over the new layer symbol. I did this until I had the amount of mushrooms I wanted. I used the move tool to spread the mushrooms around.

I added the pepperoni, sausage, green peppers, and olives the same way.

Leave a Reply

